2024 nominations are open click HERE

BookPeople Text Publishing Bookseller of the Year award recognises an individual bookseller for their outstanding achievement in the past twelve months. The winner will not only be identified for their exceptional performance within the bookshop where they work but also for their achievements within the book industry as well as the local and wider community. This award gives booksellers the chance to exhibit their retailing skills, and be recognised by their peers, the book industry, and the general community for their career achievements, innovation and outstanding performance in their stores. The recipient of the award will receive $1,000. 


1. Nominees must have worked as a bookseller for at least five years (either as an employee or proprietor).
2. Nominee can self-nominate or be nominated by a peer, employer, or colleague and work at a BookPeople member bookshop.
3. The judging is made by a panel. No correspondence will be entered into.
4. Not open to Management Committee (employees of the Management Committee can be nominated)
5. Booksellers can be nominated in one award category only in the same year.
6. Previous winners of the award are not eligible to be nominated.

6. CLOSING DATE: 5:00 pm Tuesday 30th April 2024


2023: Bronwyn Druce, Red Kangaroo Books, & Mark Rubbo, Readings.
2022: Melanie Peacock, Constant Reader
2021: Michael Earp, The Little Bookroom
2020: Alison Huber, Readings Carlton

2019: Suzie Bull, Farrell's Bookshop
2018: Chris Redfern, Avenue Bookstore
2017: Catherine Schultz, Fullers Bookshop
2016: Anna Low, The Potts Point Bookshop & Deb Force, The Sun Bookshop
2015: Karen Ferris, Berkelouw Books
2014: Jenny Barry, Books Plus
2013: Martin Shaw, Readings
2012: Meera Govil, Eltham Bookshop
2011: Lindy Jones, Abbey's Bookshop